× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: NAS204 HD and CPU Temp

nh19926
Aspirant

NAS204 HD and CPU Temp

I purchased a NAS204 and I am using 2 WD Hard drives in it.... WD2001FFSX, 7200 rpm, 64mb cache, Red Drives @ 2TB each.

I am new to this NAS and slowly getting the hang of it. Seem to work well overall.  Set up to access via phone, internet, etc.... and all works well.

I set it up by Netgear defaults.... just put the drives in and let the system auto-config and build the Raid, which shows Raid 1 - not even sure how to make it some other RAID configuration.  I also updated

the internal BIOS chip on the NAS to the current version.

I decided to explore the admin page a bit more and saw my 2 hard drives are running around 116 deg F (47C), and the CPU in the NAS is at 136F (58C).  I thought this was a bit high

as compared to my motherboard cpu running 28deg C, but it has a large cooler and dual fans.  The NAS204 fan is running fine, but wondering if I could change it out for a higher volume and fan speed

without any warranty issues; or is there a way to adjust the fan speed?  I have not opened the box up as it has only been running for about 1 week, and I do not want (any) issue with netgear or its warranty.

I am not worried about fan noise as it is in my computer room and I am the only one that uses it in my home.

AGain, would like to bring down the temp or use a replacement fan with higher volume like a Noctua.

Other thoughts.... I am going to be adding 2 more drive to fill the bays up..... so worried about higher temps too.

Thanks,

NH

Model: RN204|ReadyNAS204
Message 1 of 30
nh19926
Aspirant

I just read the specs on my NAS 204 and it claims it is using a 92 mm fan, and that the operating temp is suppose to be 32 deg to 104 F, or 0 to 40C....

Mine unit is NOT running at the temps indicated in the manual of my RN-204