× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Netgear RN31200-100NAS Hard Drive Upgrade

Ken_R
Follower

Netgear RN31200-100NAS Hard Drive Upgrade

Dear Netgear Community,

I have an old Netgear RN31200-100NAS that currently has 1TB drives installed. I would like to upgrade the unit to a pair of 6TB drives. I found a historical document that listed compatible drives, but they are all obsolete. I would like to try a pair of WD Red NAS Hard Drive WD60EFAX - 6 TB - SATA 6Gb/s. Are these drives compatible with my unit? Also, the spec sheet shows a max capacity of 12TB. Is that each drive can be up to 12TB or the 2 must add to 12TB? I'd like to put the largest drives I can in the unit. I believe it is currently setup as a RAID1. Not sure of the firmware. We are using Windows10 on the PCs networked with the unit.

P.S. Being a novice I accidently posted this in a router thread. Please forgive the dual posting.

Thanks, Ken
Model: RN31221D|ReadyNAS 300 Series 2- Bay (2x 1TB Desktop)
Message 1 of 2

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: Netgear RN31200-100NAS Hard Drive Upgrade

@Ken_R wrote:

Also, the spec sheet shows a max capacity of 12TB.

That is because the largest compatible drives at the time the spec sheet was written was 6 TB.  There is no known upper limit on the drive size.  There are 16 TB drives on the the current HCL

@Ken_R wrote:

I found a historical document that listed compatible drives, but they are all obsolete.

https://kb.netgear.com/20641/ReadyNAS-Hard-Disk-Compatibility-List is the current list

@Ken_R wrote:

I would like to try a pair of WD Red NAS Hard Drive WD60EFAX - 6 TB - SATA 6Gb/s. Are these drives compatible with my unit?

I don't recommend these particular models.  EFAX drives between 2 TB and 6 TB are SMB drives, which are not the best choice for RAID and btrfs.