× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS Pro Business Edition Drive Upgrading

broad01
Tutor

ReadyNAS Pro Business Edition Drive Upgrading

I have a ReadyNAS Pro Business Edition running RAIDiator 4.2.24.
It is loaded with 6 x 2TB drives running in X-RAID2 mode.
I have been running this setup for a couple of years.

Can I upgrade one at a time to 3GB or 4GB drives without having to factory reset. I just want some more space as I replace my failing drives.
Message 1 of 10
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: ReadyNAS Pro Business Edition Drive Upgrading

What disks were installed when you last did a factory default?

Yes you can replace your failing disks with 3TB and 4TB ones.
Message 2 of 10
broad01
Tutor

I put the 2TB disks in when a purchased it and have never reset.

If I use 3 and 4TB will the system see them?

BTW I purchased it October, 2010
Message 3 of 10
StephenB
Guru

The Ultra supports 3 and 4 TB drives.

There are two expansion limits though. (a) you cannot expand over 16 TiB and (b) you cannot grow a volume more than 8 TiB over its lifetime.

mdgm's question relates to the second limit.

If you started with 6x2TB drives, then your starting volume was 10 TB. You should therefore be able to grow to 16 TB. In that case, you will hit the 16 TiB limit if you install 4 TB drives, but you won't hit it if you install 3 TB drives.

However you started with a single 2 TB drive on your initial install, and then added the rest, then you are already at/near your max volume size (since you've grown the volume by 8 TB). In that case you'd need to do a factory reset.
Message 4 of 10
broad01
Tutor

I see.

The 16TB is a hard limit? so 6 x 4TB is never an option?

If I replace failing drives with 3TB, when will I see more capacity. with 5 x 2TB and 1 x 3Tb will I see any more? I am set to Dual redundancy.
Then 4 x TB2 and 2 x 3TB, then 3 x 2Tb and 3 x 3TB?