× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS RH104 Hard Drive Capacity Issue

StanPyke
Aspirant

ReadyNAS RH104 Hard Drive Capacity Issue

Hi all,

I am totally new to NAS and RAID arrays so apologies for my ignorance 🙂 I wanted something to take my external HDD without all the multiple plugs and ables and bought the RN104 diskless.

I have inserted a 4TB and a 2TB and done a default factory setup which reformatted the drives. this has resulted in only having 1.81TB of data I can use and not the full 6TB I was expecting. I know this is due to it being formatted as a RAID array but I just want my full capacity of 6TB to be available.

I understand I will probably need to start this all from scratch again but need some help with how I go about this and what I need to do? I will be adding more HDD later in the next few months so would also like some help for when I do this. Should I start again with only one drive and if so which one and then hot swap in the other one?

essentially I want to be able touse the full capacity of my drives without mirroring or RAID aarrays thet result in redundancy.

Any help appreciated. 

Model: RN10400|ReadyNAS 100 Series 4- Bay (Diskless)
Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNAS RH104 Hard Drive Capacity Issue

@StanPyke wrote:

...essentially I want to be able to use the full capacity of my drives without mirroring or RAID arrays that result in redundancy...

Then your best option is to set up each disk as its own volume.  You create whatever shares you want on each volume. Users will just see the shares/folders - they won't see whatever volume they are on.

The only real downside of this approach is that you do have to manage free space yourself - occasionally moving shares around to keep 15-20% free space on each disk.

To get there from where you are:

-uninstall all apps (they are installed on your current data volume).