× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: ReadyNas Duo RND2000 V2 All leds flashing, can't boot or reset.

RonnyHansen
Aspirant

ReadyNas Duo RND2000 V2 All leds flashing, can't boot or reset.

I just dusted off my old ReadyNAS and bought 2 new 2TB HDD's (WD Red).

I bought the thing, but never used it so I'm pretty new to this NAS stuff..

Problem is; I start it up, but the fan speed pulsates loudly, and all but the led above "backup" button flash, including the power button. 3 "short" flashes followed by 3ish? really fast flashes (couldn't count them).

It doesn't seem to boot up, I can't factory reset or reinstall OS (holding reset button while powering on and holding it for 30 sec for factory reset or 5 sec for reinstall).

Either I don't understand the "led blinking guide", or this issue aren't described in the guide.

Anyone seen this issue before?

Message 1 of 16
StephenB
Guru

LED blink behavior for 2 disk systems is three quick blinks of all disk LEDs and the backup LED, followed by an 1s delay, followed by a number of slow blinks.  The number of slow blinks will be the error code.

Current error codes:
1 - Vendor mismatch
2 - No disks detected
3 - Bad contents on root partition of disks
4 - Flash error
5 - Unsupported RAID configuration

Sounds like "bad contents on root partitions of disks".

Did you format the drives before inserting them in the NAS? 

Message 2 of 16
RonnyHansen
Aspirant

Hi, no the HDD's are brand new but i figured the ReadyNAS would format them itself by performing a factory reset?

Message 3 of 16
BrianL2
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hi RonnyHansen,

Welcome to the community!

Try it again and follow the procedure from this article. If it won't work, try 1 HDD or Disk at a time then let us know what happens.

Kind regards,

BrianL
NETGEAR Community Team

Message 4 of 16
StephenB
Guru

@RonnyHansen wrote: