Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

The R7000 and R8000 series are coming up on 9 yrs old

The R7000 and R8000 series are coming up on 9 yrs old

The R7000 and R8000 series are coming up on 9 yrs old.  If you are still using these series its definitely time to upgrade.

Most if not all of these products are EoL.  You aren't going to see further firmware development beyond security vulnerabilities.  There is nothing magic about staying with Wi-Fi 5 or AC when Wi-Fi 6/7 and AX are available.  Trust me you will love the performance and seriously appreciate owning a product that works.

I've been using Netgear products for nearly 19 yrs.  I've owned the R7000P  and R8000P most recently.  Anyone who has used this series for any length of time knows that Netgear has broken almost every feature the router's were sold with and never fixed them.  The problems started when these series were still under support and not EoL.  Remember  MAC Address Filtering, Traffic Meter, QoS, Access Control and the list goes on.  Then we all started disabling function in order to maintain an acceptable level of performance.  Again, no fixes every happened.  How many broken promises do you want to stick around for?    I'm just as guilty and stuck it out way longer than I should have.

Look at what you have.  A 4 port switch that broadcasts Wi-Fi.  Wi-Fi which is pretty slow by todays standards.  I don't own many Wi-Fi 6 devices, but all of the devices in our home now perform better.  Bandwidth, range, stability and reliability.  Features that work when enabled or clicked.  Netgear has excellent hardware.  Where they have fallen short is in engineering and software development.  

Today, I have all of the features the R8000P came with and so much more.  I did not purchase a new Netgear product and can only say that after so long and so many broken promises I'm on the fence about ever doing so again.