× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

advise for buying switches and creation SFP trunk

hohojojo
Aspirant

advise for buying switches and creation SFP trunk

Dear community,

As I am new to managed Switches I would like to have some advise before buying 2 switches.
I need to connect 2 switches, one in a small office and one in home, approx. 50 meters apart from each other. A 200 Mbit fiber internet connection is ready to connect in the home location and connects both the office uses and the home users.

I think of using 2 ProSAFE Smart Switches GS724T which have 2 fiber SFP GBIC connections as a stack and connect them via an SFP trunk to get a 2Gbit connection between switches.

Planned are 2 Synology DS1817+ file- and backupservers, one in office and one in home. This DS1817+ has 4 Gbit ethernet connections and supports link aggregation (LACP). I think of connecting them via an 4 port SFP trunk to the switch for optimal performance.

Future connections for security camera's are prepared.

Questions
1) Is creation of the trunks and stack possible with these switches?
2) Is this a cost effective solution given the provided information or is there a much better option?
3) Is this the right type of cable for this project?
https://www.patchkast.nl/om3-glasvezel-kabel-lc-lc-50m.html
type: Duplex, Multimode 50/125,
category: OM3
connector: LC

I am happy to provide more information if needed.

Thanks, hohojojo

Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
JohnC_V
NETGEAR Moderator

Re: advise for buying switches and creation SFP trunk

@hohojojo,

Yes, you may use the S3300-28X (GS728TX) for trunking and LACP. It is also possible to create LAG between two switches as long as the switches that you are going to use supports LAG. If you wanted a device that supports stacking feature then the GS728TXS will do.