× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Drive Upgrade from 1TB to 2TB

hh1011
Aspirant

Drive Upgrade from 1TB to 2TB

I've been using a ReadyNAS Duo RND2110 for home backups for several years now. I have about 675 GB of data and want to upgrade both drives from 1TB to 2TB.
I'm seeking input on drive recommendations. Looking at this Seagate 2 TB HDD SATA 6 Gb/s NCQ 64MB Cache ST2000DM001 - http://amzn.to/1tAFxSk. It's listed on the hard disk compatibility list, although my warranty has expired. Anyone have any thoughts on this drive choice? Anything else I should be looking at or is this a good replacement to increase my drive space to 2TB? Thanks for the input. I've found many answers here over the years, but this is my first time posting so be kind. :wink:
Message 1 of 13
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Personally I would choose a different drive.

Whichever drive you choose if the NAS will store the primary copy of any data that is important to you then regular backups of the NAS are important.

Welcome to the forum!
Message 2 of 13
StephenB
Guru

I'm not a fan of the Seagate DM drives in ReadyNAS. There are several people here who have had trouble with them. I'd go with the WD20EFRX instead (even though they are not on the HCL they will work well in the duo). Since you no longer have warranty support, there isn't a strong benefit to sticking with the aging HCL.

Upgrade your firmware first.

You might also check this article out: http://www.rnasguide.com/2011/06/22/why ... -readynas/

If you don't have 4K sector alignment you might want to do a factory reset. It's not strictly needed, but it will improve performance a bit.
Message 3 of 13
hh1011
Aspirant