× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Hard drive says it is full

Oz2014
Aspirant

Hard drive says it is full

HI all,
I have a ReadyNas Duo with two green hard drives of 2 terabytes each. It is telling me that 99% of the drive is full (~1900 gigs used) but when I add up all three partitions it only comes to ~700 gigs!! Any idea what is happening?
Message 1 of 10
vandermerwe
Master

Re: Hard drive says it is full

What firmware?
When you say you've added up all 3 partitions, do you mean you've ssh'd in to the NAS?
If not, what exactly have you added up?

Do you have any snapshots?

Are home shares active?

Do you have recycle bins active and have you checked them?
Message 2 of 10
Oz2014
Aspirant

Hi Van,
First of all thanks for your help. I am no expert on the topic but I'm a bit computer literate. I'll try my best to answer your questions.
The firmware is: RAIDiator 4.1.13 [1.00a043]
The model is ReadyNAS Duo [X-RAID]
I am using the latest version of RAIDar (4.3.8)
When I go into frontview it says: Volume C: Online, X-RAID, 2 disks, 99% of 1853 GB used

I did 3 shares:
One named movies where I saved my DVD collection.
One named "media" were I saved my music CD collection
One named "Backup" were I am backing up my family folder (photos, etc) from my home computer.

In order to find out the size of each share I enter it and highlight all the folders before right click and scroll to “properties”.
Using this method the sizes of the files stored in each share are:
Movies: 560 GB
Media: 122 GB
Backup: 149 GB

Total of 831 GB
The disks are 2 teras each and as you see above it says “99% of 1853 GB used “

The only suspicious thing I can see is that in the “backup” share there is a folder named “HOME-PC” and when I double click on it in explorer, a window comes up of “network error” saying that I don’t have permission to access \backup\HOME-PC. And tells me to contact my network administrator.