× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Hardwiring NAS Duo v2 to Rega Dac

Sexon
Aspirant

Hardwiring NAS Duo v2 to Rega Dac

I am a newbie and not an IT tech but need your help.

I recently purchased a NAS Duo v2, transferred all my music to it.

I have a Rega Dac and hoped that i could connect it directly to the NAS (using the rear USB connections), somehow this did not work. i now have my laptop connected to the Dac using usb.

the NAS itself is connected to the router through an ethernet cable. from my laptop i can see the NAS contents on My Networks and can play music that way. what i ideally want is to connect the NAS to the Dac directly and i 'see into it' using the laptop and play music that way. is there a way?

this may not be as clear as intended but i welcome any suggestions. it has been mentioned that the NAS has no operating sytem so what i seek may be impossible. I do not wish to buy a squeezebox if other alternatives can be found.

also keen to know what a UPnP is?

many thanks,
Message 1 of 9
Sexon
Aspirant

Bump. is there a way i can directly connect the NAS to the Dac, will get rid of the long wires in the house.

thanks again
Message 2 of 9
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Message 3 of 9
sphardy1
Apprentice

Umm... in this case the OP is not trying to use the NAS as a USB target. That said, there is no support for attaching any kind of audio device to the NAS via USB. Devices like Squeezebox are the usual way to address this - they access the NAS as a network source and provide the control and connection to audio equipment. I know of no commercial NAS that enables you to avoid the equipment in-between.

Maybe the OP would have been better off building a small homeserver running a full OS? Something like Vortexbox?
Message 4 of 9
Sexon
Aspirant