× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

yachtman
Aspirant

This thread is already too long....but I just couldn't help myself...

I love Time Machine on the ReadyNas. I am surprised with the number of people having problems, because while I've had a few myself (like not have the exact same case-sensitive structures), once figured out it works like a charm.

As a developer, I am constantly installing stuff on my Mac, but some programs like MySQL are sensitive as to what's been installed and often fail. What I've found in these cases is a complete virgin install of operating software on my mac. With TimeMachine its a breeze. I don't follow the full restore root. I start from a clean install and selectively reload apps, my personal files, and preferences with Time Machine. Takes longer than a Restore, but it allows me to not install apps I no longer want.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I haven't seen any other software that can do what Time Machine does in such a simplistic non-mind-bending fashion.

Now, I just wish someone would create a NAS that is a file server, has RAID, and can also provide Time Machine-like use. That would be great.
Message 76 of 172
Meob1
Aspirant

yachtman wrote:
This thread is already too long....but I just couldn't help myself...

I love Time Machine on the ReadyNas. I am surprised with the number of people having problems, because while I've had a few myself (like not have the exact same case-sensitive structures), once figured out it works like a charm.