× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: ReadyNAS Duo not visible on W10 network for backup

Angusjdd
Aspirant

ReadyNAS Duo not visible on W10 network for backup

Help !  I have been using a ReadyNAS Duo for a few years now, for data backups.  I upgraded to Windows 10 a few months ago and now I cannot the ReadyNAS on the network as a drive.  When I open Windows explorer under 'Network' I can see it listed as a 'Media Device' and also as 'Storage', but it is not listed under 'Computer'.  When I run my backup program I get the error message '...could not locate folder \\NAS1\backup\'.  

The RAIDar utility can find the ReadyNAS and says everything is functioning OK with status Healthy.  Firmware 4.1.16

I have tried the various Windows networking troubleshooting with no success. I am bit of a novice with networks so I am stumped as to the steps to take to troubleshoot the issue.  

Grateful for any help this community can give to help me troubleshoot this issue.

Thank you, Angus

Model: ReadyNASRND2000|ReadyNAS Duo Chassis only
Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
Marty_M
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hello Angusjdd,

I understand that you have a windows 10 computer that is having trouble accessing the NAS via SMB. If other computer able to access the NAS then we can isolate that there might be a problem on this specific computer. Please make sure that computer and NAS is on the same subnet of ip address and does belong to the same work group. You may also try to disable firewall, anti virus and internet security application running on the computer. Kindly check this thread as well it since it may be the cause of the problem. 

Welcome to the community!

Regards,
Marty_M 
NETGEAR Community Team

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 9

All Replies
Marty_M
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hello Angusjdd,