× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Using a ReadyNAS 3200 for offsite backup.

Ned70
Aspirant

Using a ReadyNAS 3200 for offsite backup.

Hi,

I'm an experienced network professional, but a complete newbie when it comes to ReadyNAS.  I have been given the option to purchase a second user ReadyNAS 3200 and I was wondering if it could do the following:

I need to change the way that I support a Special Needs school with regards to offsite backup.  I need to backup in real-time user data and Exchange (email) data.  Is this something that this device can do?  

Many thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 4
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Using a ReadyNAS 3200 for offsite backup.

For such important use I would recommend getting a unit where you have warranty rather than purchasing a second hand unit.

What are you looking to backup? Have you considered what software you will use?

Generally for this use case I would recommend backing up to an on-site NAS then replicating these backups off-site.

Message 2 of 4
Ned70
Aspirant

Many thanks for your reply mdgm.

I note and agree with your comments about a warranteed device.  However in the first instance (for many obvious reasons: School, limited budget) I haven't really got that option.  That's not to say that this will be the case in the future, if I can prove this technology to be sound enough to invest in.  Of course this will mean that it will need to do what we are looking for it to do.