× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.

Re: Prosafe WC7520 controller firmware upgrade question

sparky2811
Aspirant

Prosafe WC7520 controller firmware upgrade question

Dear all

I'm completely new here so bear with me.  🙂

I am an IT technician at a small primary school.  I’m fairly new to the job and trying to figure out how the Netgear system works.

We have a Netgear Prosafe WC7520 wireless controller and 15 WNDAP360 access points at here at the school.

I’m looking to upgrade the controller firmware.  It is currently running version 2.5.0.5_3215 which I understand could well be the version it shipped with.

On the Netgear website it states that the latest version available is Firmware Version 2.5.0.43.  Looking at the previous firmware versions I cannot see my version (2.5.0.5_3215) listed.  The closest I think are versions 2.5.0.31 and 2.2.0.35.

My question is: which version can I safely upgrade the controller to?  Can I upgrade straight to the latest version (2.5.0.43)?  Also, what are the numbers 3215 at the end of my firmware version for?

Many, many thanks. 

Mark

Model: WNDAP360|ProSafe Wireless-N Access Point
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

@sparky2811,

You may use partition 2 since its the current active partition and proceed with the firmware upgrade.  

There is no option to check what is the current firmware version on partition 1 unless, it is activated.  For me, I suggest not to activate partition 1 yet because we do not know the current firmware version stored in it.  It might be a lower version of the firmware or it could be there is no firmware version stored in it. However, we could select partition 1 to which the new firmware to be saved then activate it.  

Regards,

DaneA
NETGEAR Community Team

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 5

All Replies
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hi sparky2811,

Welcome to the community! 🙂