× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: ReadyNas104 Adding a new hard drive

MikeBob
Aspirant

ReadyNas104 Adding a new hard drive

I originally setup my ReadyNas104 with three 3TB WD Red drives using X-RAID.  Everything is working perfectly with that setup.   I am now trying to add a new unformatted 2TB WD Red drive.  The drive appears installed correctly and is seen by the RN104.  My understanding is I would "Format" this drive and then be able to add it to the RAID and that X-RAID allows for drives of dissimilar size.  I click on Format, type FORMAT, I see the spinning icon for a few seconds and then nothing else happens.  The "Format" button is again available for clicking but "New Volume" continues to be whited out (not clickable).

I am brand new to NAS but I am capable of examining log files and now how to use WinSCP.  Any help would be appreciated.

NAS104.JPG

Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

XRAID requires the new drive to be the same size or bigger than the existing drives.  So it can't add in your 2 TB drive.

You can switch to flexraid, and create a new volume for the 2 TB drives.  It won't be protected by RAID, but you can create shares on it.  

You can also destroy the current volume and create a new one.  You'll lose all the data on the current volume.  If you do that, you probably should uninstall all the apps first (and reinstall them when you have a new volume created).

View solution in original post

Message 3 of 8

All Replies
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

With X-RAID the disks you add need to have at least as high capacity as existing disks.

Message 2 of 8
StephenB
Guru

XRAID requires the new drive to be the same size or bigger than the existing drives.  So it can't add in your 2 TB drive.

You can switch to flexraid, and create a new volume for the 2 TB drives.  It won't be protected by RAID, but you can create shares on it.