× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

No Ethernet Connection after Connect with GS105 Switch

deffi
Aspirant

No Ethernet Connection after Connect with GS105 Switch

Hi
I am a newbie concerning switches and have the following problem:

I have connected my GS105v4 ProSafe Switch with a patch cable  to the Fritzbox (from port1 the Fritzbox to port 1 of the switch). Both LEDs on this port are flashing. On port 2 of the switch I have a  connected a device (PC) (flashing also both LEDs), but no communication/internet with the PC . Neither switch nor PC do appear in my home network at all. I tried of course also different other ports on the switch, synonymous different network cables - without this something changes.

What am I doing wrong here?

Model: GS105v4|ProSAFE 5-port Gigabit Ethernet Switch
Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions
deffi
Aspirant

Re: No Ethernet Connection after Connect with GS105 Switch

Hi,

thanks for answering, but the problem has been solved in the meantime. But anyway I will answer your questions, maybe it´s a help for somebody else:

your questions 1 and 2:) If the Pc was connected via switch to the fritzbox (7390), I couldn´t ping the fritzbox. PC and switch were not visible/existing in the network.
3.) Fritzbox 7390 modem/router combination
4.) Yes direct connection to the fritzbox was no problem.

The solution:
At the next day/overnight everything works fine without doining anything. The only thing what happens over night is the daily provider forced disconnection of the my fritzbox. And we had a short blackout in the night, so all devices have been dead for a few minutes and restarted automaticly.

Stefan

View solution in original post

Message 3 of 4

All Replies
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hi @deffi,

Welcome to the community! 🙂 

Let us isolate the problem.  Kindly answer the questions below: