× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS Replicate SLOW on initial replication

rclementtx
Guide

ReadyNAS Replicate SLOW on initial replication

Folks,

I'm new to Replicate and have done a few test runs with it.  I am finding it really SLOW in terms of replicating files between 2 servers, RN314 and RN316, both connected to my LAN.  Both are operating under OS6.4.2 firmware.  Network performance statistic shows transfer rates of 500 KB per second, which is much slower than my system is capable of.

As I examine Replicate logs I'm finding the following note on all jobs

Connection Method 4

Using relayed connection; Consider using port forwarding

I'm presuming that the replication process is acting as if my 2 boxes are at remote locations vs. being on the same network, and thus all transfers are taking place thru ReadyNAS servers vs being within my LAN.

For reference they are both plugged into a Netgear Prosafe 16 port Gigabit Switch (with 1GB connection LEDs enabled) (2 LAN connections per machine).  The switch is plugged into a FIOS Actiontec M1424WR Router.

I have ReadyNas Remote enabled on both devices in default mode.  I can "find" these devices with no problems when I look at them (and their files) with ReadyCloud app on my iPad and iPhone.

As I examine the Port Forwarding table on the Actiontec router, there is no entry for ReadyNas Remote or ReadyNas Replicate - I can find entries ofr ReadyNas Photo (which works well).

Any help on how to solve this speed issue on initial replication (which at the curren rate will take several weeks to replicate my approximate 3 TB files) would be most appreciated.

Model: RN31400|ReadyNAS 300 Series 4- Bay,RN31600|ReadyNAS 300 Series 6- Bay
Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
rclementtx
Guide

Re: ReadyNAS Replicate SLOW on initial replication