Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

FVS336Gv2 routers drop connections, or are very slow.

MichaelJennings
Aspirant

FVS336Gv2 routers drop connections, or are very slow.

Slow speed, unstable connection   We have 4 FVS336Gv2 routers. I am new to configuring them. We want to upgrade from very old FVS328 routers that we use for IPSEC VPN connections to remote computers.

Initially the 4 FVS336Gv2 routers work well and the speed is fine. After an hour or more, or several hours, all 4 fail. We begin getting "Server not found" at every browser request. Clicking on "Try again" multiple times will finally cause the web page to be displayed. It is necessary to click on a URL in a browser several times.

We are using the latest firmware: v4.3.3-6.

When testing with an old Netgear FVS328 router, there are no problems. (Firmware Version V1.0_15)

When we switch to an On Networks N300R router, there are no problems.

(We want to use an IPSEC VPN to connect to remote Netgear FVS328 routers, which we would like to replace with FVS336Gv2 routers. We have not been able to make VPN connections.)

Network we are using for testing:
Comcast cable, speed 30 Mbps down and 6 Mbps up.
Motorola SB6141 modem
Netgear NAT firewall, FVS328, or when testing, FVS336Gv2
ZyXEL GS1100-24 Unmanaged Gigabit Ethernet Switch
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit computers

Conditions:

1) We are connecting to a Motorola SB6141 cable modem, which is connected to Comcast.

2) When using one of the FVS336Gv2 routers, the cable modem correctly shows the blue blinking light at the bottom, indicating that it is connecting to a 1 Gigabit router. (The other routers we tested are 100 Mbit; the light blinks yellow for those.)

3) I thought that the "Server not found" message might indicate a lack of ability to access the DNS. So, instead of "Obtain DNS server address automatically", I tried the Google DNS settings, 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4. That made no difference.