× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

XS512EM firmware 1.2.0.5 and IGMP Snooping issues ?

lissyx
Aspirant

XS512EM firmware 1.2.0.5 and IGMP Snooping issues ?

Hello,

I've been using a XS512EM switch for years (since 2019-07) as my core switch at home, running flawlessly. It has an Orange Livebox (5 then 6) connected for upstream FTTH, and links to a MS510TX under the TV where the orange tv decoder is connected. XS512EM and MS510TX are both connected with 10GbE fine for years. Both were left in default mode regarding IGMP Snooping which as much as I can tell is "Enabled".

FTR I also have a UniFi switch that collects some metrics that will be useful later, connected with a 10GbE DAC link to he XS512EM as well.

The TV decoder makses use of multicast for the video streams, as one can find easily when searching on the internet and when not connecting directly the decoder to the FTTH CPE (Livebox) then it is required to enable IGMP Snooping for smooth activity.

Recently, the TV playback started to randomly freeze, sounding very much like network overload. I tried a lot of things, enabling/disabling IGMP Snooping on the XS12EM or teh MS510TX, but after years without an issue it felt weird. Then I had a look at the metrics reported by the UniFi switch visible below.

One can easily see an increase in multicast trafic reported by this switch. The only thing that happened this day was me upgrading the XS512EM from 1.2.0.0 firmware to 1.2.0.5. Release notes mentions "IGMP snooping is now disabled by default", which sounds a bit weird, for a feature enabled by default since release.

Given the lack of proper documentation as of why this was disabled by default, one can only speculate. For sure enabling did not help, as visible on the chart.